I Am Going To Write A Novel (NaNoWriMo Participation Announcement)

I was just aimlessly scrolling around WordPress reader, reading posts and stuff, then I came to this post on life of Chad blog about a writing event called National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).After reading the post, I was in.

What is NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo is a nonprofit origination that organizes writing event in which participants writes a 50,000 word project in the month of November. I have seen a YouTube video about NaNoWriMo but I thought it’s only in America but it’s also online you can participate online; there are about 5,000 members in Indian region.

I Always Wanted To Try Fiction Writing

I like reading books and I sometimes feel like what is like to be a fiction writer, I really do want to start fiction writing but It seems very intimidating, I always get overwhelmed by the idea writing a huge 1,00,000 word adult novel. I think that I don’t have that much of an experience in writing a fiction, I shouldn’t do it, I should focus on my studies and things like that.

Why I Liked It

What really appeals to me about NaNoWriMo is that it’s a community, that makes writing not a lonely thing to do, and Secondly, it’s not a competition, people come to write more and make progress in their projects, Thirdly, it’s 50,000 thousand words it’s not that much hard but it’s not also that easy, I have to write about 1,667 words per day to be able to complete my first draft. It’s going to be a fun and challenging.

The Plan

My goal is two write 2,000 words per day because I know I will write a lot of crap that I have to shave off but there is a little challenge to that. My college is going to start and I have a few family functions in November, so I am not entirely free in November. That’s why I have started from today I am working on my outline and I am making notes on my characters. So that I just have to write in November.

Final Thoughts

It’s going to be completely polarizing experience, I hope that I will come up with something decent and maybe I may even self publish it but one thing is for sure that it will be a great experience.

This post is very late because I was working on my outline and I woke at 5:30 in the morning, watching YouTube videos on NaNoWriMo and doing some chores at home. I also forgot that I have a blog.🤦‍♂️

“Do You Have Participated in NaNoWriMo, What are Experiences, Do you have some advice to give me, I would love to hear your thoughts”.

2 thoughts on “I Am Going To Write A Novel (NaNoWriMo Participation Announcement)

Leave a comment